Leisure  |  Important Dates  |  Astrology  |  Archives
Back to Main Page

Antonio Banderas

Sundance 2007

Robert Redford invited celebrities and up-and-coming filmmakers to Park City, Utah for the Sundance Film Festival, a celebration of independent cinema. The festival, dubbed Hollywood’s annual ski retreat, was a popular see-and-be-seen destination for many stars, including Gwyneth Paltrow, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Keri Russell and Justin Timberlake, to name a few.

For two weeks, the posh resort town hosted a variety of activities for visitors and participants. While some took in movie screenings, those with connections sauntered over to Main Street. There, extravagant gifting suites aligned the city’s major boulevard. Teri Hatcher and Sienna Miller were among the famous guests. The Desperate Housewives star walked away with US $10,000 worth of goodies, including US $3,000 of Lia Sophia Jewelry, AG Jeans and Dermalogica products. Meanwhile, Miller, the star of Interview, a film showing at the festival, took home some Fred Segal lingerie.

At night, celebrities made appearances at some of the most exclusive parties in town, the hottest being the Heineken bash. Oscar® nominee Eddie Murphy (Dreamgirls) kept a low profile at the party while Tara Reid commanded the attention of all as she lit up the dance floor with her brow-raising moves.

The festival eventually came to an end with the announcement of Sundance prize winners. Congratulations to:

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
Manda Bala

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:

Padre Nuestro

The World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
Enemies of Happiness

The World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Sweet Mud

World Cinema Competition Documentary Special Jury Prize:
Hot House

World Cinema Dramatic Competition Special Jury Prize:
The Legacy

Independent Film Competition Documentary Special Jury Prize:
No End in Sight

Special Jury Prize for Singularity of Vision:
Chris Smith, The Pool

Special Jury Prize for Acting, Independent Dramatic Film:
Jess Weixler, for Teeth and Tamara Podemski for Four Sheets to the Wind

Excellence in Cinematography, Documentary:
Heloisa Passos for Manda Bala

Excellence in Cinematographcy, Dramatic:
Joshua Benoit Debie

Independent Film Competition Documentary Jury, Editing:
Hibah Sherif Frisina, Charlton McMillian, and Michael Schweitzer for Nanking

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award:
Grace is Gone

Independent Film Competition, Directing, Documentary:
War/Dance, Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine

Independent Film Competition, Directing, Dramatic:
Rocket Science, Jeffrey Blitz

Audience Award, Documentary:
Hear and Now

Audience Award, Dramatic:
Grace is Gone

The World Cinema Audience Award for Documentary:
In the Shadow of the Moon

World Cinema Audience Award for Dramatic Film:

The Alfred P. Sloan prize:
Dark Matter

The Sundance Institute and NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation):
Lucía Cedrón, Agnus Dei, from Latin America; Caran Hartsfield, Bury Me Standing, from the United States; Tomoko Kana, Two by the River, from Japan; and Dagur Kári, The Good Heart, from Europe.

The Shorts Special Jury Prize for Short Filmmaking:

Jury Prize for International Short:
The Tube With a Hat

Jury Prize for Short Filmmaking:
Everything Will Be OK

Business Links
NY Times
NYSE Daily